JLP Party Officer Corp Re-Elected & Tufton Returns to Central Executive of JLP - Chang

Release Date: 
Tuesday, December 9, 2014 - 15:30

General Secretary of the JLP Dr Horace Chang advised that the JLP has re-elected unopposed a slate of officers at its Central Executive meeting convened last Sunday at the Party’s Belmont Rd Headquarters.

The Party Chairman Senator Robert Montague and Deputy Chairman Aundre Franklyn were returned along with himself as General Secretary. Four Deputy General Secretary's were also returned these being: Audley Gordon, Dr Andrew Wheatley, Homer Davis and Richard Creary. Treasurer Phillip Henriques and deputy treasurer Leslie Campbell were also elected unopposed.

Dr. Chang observed that resulting from its several internal election activities was the return of Dr Christopher Tufton to an active role in the Party. This occurred as a result of his having been included amongst the ten members elected to Central Executive from the general membership of the Party.

The General Secretary also noted that all committee chairmen were assigned and the other elections conducted were to choose persons from the Central Executive to the Party’s executive management committee, the Standing Committee. These ten elected persons included: Audley Shaw, Karl Samuda, Mike Henry, Floyd Green Shahine Robinson and Senator Marlene Malahoo Forte.

In closing Dr Chang further observed that some fifteen local government candidates were also confirmed alongside the confirmation of two Constituency Caretakers These are business woman and Harvard Graduate Mrs Fayval Williams for Eastern St Andrew and Attorney and Senator, Alexander Williams for East Rural St Andrew, who is son of former Mayor for St Catherine and BITU Vice -President Everald Williams. He mentioned also that Mrs. Williams is a member of the Economic Advisory Commission of the JLP and Senator Williams is the Opposition Spokesperson on Justice.

Contact Us

Jamaica Labour Party Headquarters

20 Belmont Road
Kingston 5, Jamaica
Tel: (876)-929-1183